4Geeks logo
4Geeks logo

Courses

Explore our extensive collection of courses designed to help you master various subjects and skills. Whether you're a beginner or an advanced learner, there's something here for everyone.

Coding Bootcamp

Learn live

Join us for our free workshops, webinars, and other events to learn more about our programs and get started on your journey to becoming a developer.

Upcoming live events

Learning library

For all the self-taught geeks out there, here is our content library with most of the learning materials we have produced throughout the years.

It makes sense to start learning by reading and watching videos about fundamentals and how things work.

Data Science and Machine Learning - 16 wks

Full-Stack Software Developer - 16w

Search from all Lessons

LoginGet Started
← Back to Lessons
  • 4geeks

Edit on Github

Avoid deletion of your projects on Github

Why do we delete your projects?
Start by making your projects public
  • How to Make Your Projects Public

Projects represent the work and experience in your professional portfolio. These projects showcase your skills as a programmer and are a powerful tool to demonstrate what you can achieve in the professional field. They are your introduction to potential employers or clients.

Once you graduate from one of 4Geeks Academy bootcamps you will have access to the community and most of your benefits for life:

  • Career Support (Geekforce)
  • Mentorships (GeekPal)
  • Slack workspace and #public-support channels (GeekPal)
  • Online platform for lessons, exercises, and projects.
  • LearnPack exercise engine

But, as you will understand after reading this article, we cannot keep giving you access to 4Geeks Academy's Github Organization as a member, which comes with several limitations.

  1. You will lose access to the private projects you created during your bootcamp.
  2. Any project you didn't fork into your personal account will be deleted soon.

But don't worry, this is entirely fixable.

Why do we delete your projects?

Github limits the number of repositories an organization can have; we cannot keep copies of every project every student ever made; we will have to delete them at some point.

We decided to keep students' projects for up to 30 days after graduation, which gives you plenty of time to backup all your code because the process takes no more than 2 minutes.

Start by making your projects public

We understand that you may prefer to keep some projects private. That is a completely valid choice, but it is important that you understand the implications. If you decide to keep your projects as private repositories, you will lose access to them once you are no longer a member of the 4Geeks Academy organization.

πŸ”₯ We strongly recommend making all your repositories public from day one.

How to Make Your Projects Public

  1. Log in to your GitHub account.
  2. Go to 4Geeks Academy's organization repository page.
  3. Find your project by typing on the search bar.
  4. Click on your repository name to take you to the repository page.
  5. Once on your repo page, look for the settings tab and click on it.
  6. Once inside settings, scroll down until you find the "make public" button and click on it.

Note: You may find that the button says "make private" instead, which means your repo was already public, and you don't need to do anything in order to make it public.

🚫 Avoid deletion of your projects upon graduation

πŸ”₯ Immediately after you graduate, the projects you have created during the bootcamp will be scheduled to delete in 30 days. You must fork them into your Github account to avoid losing them.

How to fork your projects

To avoid losing your project code, you can create a copy under your personal GitHub account, becoming the sole owner of this new copy that no one will ever delete or have access to.

Steps:

  1. Log in to your GitHub account.

  2. Visit the repository you want to fork (for example, https://github.com/4GeeksAcademy/<Your-Repository>).

Note: You should replace <your-repository> with the actual name of your repository.

  1. Click the "Fork" button in the top right corner.

  2. Find your forked repository at https://github.com/<Your-Username>/<Your-Repository>.

Note: You should replace <Your-Username> and <your-repository> with your actual username and repository name.